6th Southern Workshop on Granular Materials (Chile, 3-6 December 2018)

Dear Colleague,

We are pleased to invite you to participate and submit an abstract to the 6th Southern Workshop on Granular Materials (SWGM6). The conference will be held in Puerto Varas, on December 3-6, 2018. The SWGM6 will comprise a broad range of granular-system subjects providing an up-to-date view of the field in topics such as non-local rheology in granular flow, discharge flows, soft and non-spherical particles, shear-thickening suspensions, active macroscopic particles, impact on granular beds, propulsion in granular media, invasion phenomena, among others.
The SWGM6 will take place in the Hotel Cabañas del Lago at the city of Puerto Varas on the shores of Lake Llanquihue. Puerto Varas is famous for its architecture that uniquely combines its German heritage with a breathtaking landscape. The city is surrounded by beautiful sites, such as the All Saints Lake, the Petrohué Falls, the Osorno Volcano, Puerto Montt and Chiloe island.

For more information about the conference, we kindly ask you to visit our website at:
For details about Puerto Varas, we suggest you to visit the website of VisitChile: http://www.visitchile.com/en/tourist guides/puerto-varas/

– Felipe Pacheco Vázquez, Institute of Physics in Puebla
– Hiroaki Katsuragi, Nagoya University
– Scott Waitukaitis, Universiteit Leiden
– Xiang Cheng, University of Minnesota
– Daniel Goldman, Georgia Tech
– Bruno Andreotti, ESPCI (PMMH)
– Luis Pugnaloni, Departamento de Ingeniería Mecánica, Facultad Regional de la Plata
– Ken Kamrin, Department of Mechanical Engineering at MIT (TBC)
– Romain Mari, Université Grenoble Alpes (TBC)
– Olivier Dauchot, ESPCI (TBC)

– Abstract submission deadline: June 1st, 2018
– Registration fee (accommodation and meals included): 500 USD (regular) / 800 USD (late)
– Abstract notification: July 30th, 2018
– Early registration: until Sep 15th, 2018
– Late registration: until Nov 1st, 2018

We look forward to having you at the SWGM6.

Sincerely yours,
Gustavo Castillo, Leonardo Gordillo & Germán Varas
(On behalf of the organizing committee)

Les commentaires sont fermés.