Fundamental Problems in Active Matter (Aspen 2018)

Dear colleagues,

We are delighted to invite you to participate in the ASPEN winter conference on « Fundamental Problems in Active Matter ». The conference will be held at the Aspen Center for Physics from Sunday, January 28 to Saturday, February 3, 2018:

The past few years have witnessed an upsurge of studies at the crossroads of chemistry, biology, and physics. The aim of this Aspen Winter Conference is to bring together, through talks and focused discussions, researchers from these diverse disciplines to exchange viewpoints and chart a roadmap going forward that melds the different approaches to the study of this exciting area.

A typical day will be organized around talks in the morning and in the evening, and focused discussions in between. There will also be ample time to benefit from informal discussions with colleagues, as well as taking full advantage of the nearby ski resort. The Aspen Center for Physics also offers offices which can be used for private discussions and work. We hope to see all the registered attendees through the entire conference, arriving on Sunday and leaving on Saturday.

Registration fees are $400 per person. Everyone, including organizers and invited speakers, must pay the registration fee. It is refundable, if attendance is cancelled. No food is included in this fee. The registration can be done on the website of Aspen Center for Physics:

*Deadline to apply is October 31, 2017.*

Limited and partial financial support may be available, aimed preferentially towards young researchers, based on merit and need.

Please find below a list of invited participants.

Best wishes,

Aparna Baskaran, Ayusman Sen, Julien Tailleur

* Igor Aranson (Penn State)
* Dean Astumian (University of Maine)
* Anna Balazs (University of Pittsburgh)
* Denis Bartolo (ENS Lyon)
* Andreas Bausch (Technische Universität München)
* Mark Bowick (Syracuse University)
* John Brady (California Institute of Technology)
* Chase Broederz (Ludwig Maximilians Universität München)
* Hugues Chaté (CAE Saclay)
* Cécile Cottin-Bizonne (Université Lyon 1)
* Roberto Di Leonardo (Sapienza Università di Roma)
* Nikhta Fakhri (MIT)
* Peer Fischer (Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems)
* Seth Fraden (Brandeis University)
* Ambarish Ghosh (Indian Institute of Science)
* Jeff Gore (MIT)
* Steve Granick (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
* Oskar Hallatschek (Berkeley University of California)
* Yariv Kafri (Technion)
* Raymond Kapral (University of Toronto)
* Kirill Korolev (Boston University)
* Eric Lauga (University of Cambridge) ∗
* Cristina Marchetti (Syracuse University)
* Michael Murrell (Yale University)
* Daniel Needleman (Harvard University)
* Nicholas Ouellette (Stanford University)
* Jeremy Palacci (University of California San Diego)
* Wilson Poon (University of Edinburgh)
* Jennifer Ross (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
* Samuel Sánchez (Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia)
* Alvaro Sanchez (Yale University)
* Masaki Sano (the University of Tokyo)
* Michael Shelley (New York University)
* Alexandre Solon (MIT)
* Vincenzo Vittelli (Leiden University)

∗ To be confirmed


Dr Julien Tailleur
Responsable de l’équipe Théorie des Systèmes Complexes
Laboratoire MSC
Université Paris Diderot
Bâtiment Condorcet
10 rue Alice Domon et Léonie Duquet
75205 Paris cedex 13
Tél : +33 (0)1 57 27 70 64
Fax : +33 (0)1 57 27 62 11
web :

Les commentaires sont fermés.